15th - 17th November 2019 Lucknow, India
Urban Mobility India Conference 2018 - Photo Gallery
UMI Proceedings
Day 1 Friday November 02, 2018
Inaugural Session
Special Session – Redefining Public Transport

Dr O.P. Agarwal, CEO, World Resource Institute (WRI)

Mr Brijesh Dixit, Managing Director, Maha Metro

Technical Session 1 – Public Transport Options for Small and Medium Cities

Mr Vikas Mishra, Additional Commissioner, Urban Development Department

Mr Arnaud Dauphin, Lead Transport Specialist, AFD Paris

Ms Anie Amicci, Urban Mobility Department, The Brazilian Development Bank (BNDES) (supported by KFW)

Mr Clayton Lane, Business Development Director

Dr. Praful Gharpure, Architect – Urban Planner, Tata Consultancy Services, Nagpur

Technical Session 2 – Low Carbon Transit Systems

Mr Seiichiro Akimura, General Manager, Japan International Consultants for Transportation, Co., Ltd (sponsored)

Mr Dhiraj Santdasani, Climate Counselor & Speaker, ICCE

Mr Ranbir Saran Das, CEO & Chairman, Ultra PRT Ltd., UK

Mr S.V. Sarode, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, NIT, Nagpur

Round Table 1 – Women in Public Transport (Supported by UITP)

Mr Jerome Pourbaix, Director Regional Services & Offices, UITP Brussels

Plenary Session 1 – Future of Mobility – Moving Towards a Shared, Connected & Electric Future
Day 2 Saturday November 03, 2018
Research Symposium 1 – Public Transport Planning


Ms. Tiyali Bose, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur - A Methodology to Prioritise Service Quality Attributes for Bus Transit

Ms. Madhusree Bhattacharjee, School of Planning & Architecture, Delhi- REVITALISATION STRATEGIES FOR TRAMS IN A METROPOLITAN CITY – KOLKATA


Research Symposium 2 - Mobility & Environment

Kushagra Sinha, SPA Delhi- Climate Change Mitigation in Urban Transport Sector-A Case Study of Gurugram-Manesar Urban Complex (GMUC), Haryana

Priyangi Panchal, CEPT University - How parking charge can act as a trigger for managing parking spaces? –A case of C.G.Road, Ahmedabad


Round Table 2 – Finalization of Specification for LRT & Review of Rolling Stock Specifications

Mr L. Narasim Prasad, Director (Systems & Operations), CMRL

Round Table 3 – Learnings from the Sustainable Urban transport Project, India (Supported by PMU, SUTP)

(Supported by PMU, SUTP)

AICTSL Indore – Learnings

Hubli Dhawad BRTS – Learnings

Mysuru ITS – Learnings

Mysuru PBS – Learnings

Pimpri Chinchwad BRTS - Learnings

Technical Session 3 – Alternate Technologies in Urban Mobility

Mr Shomik Mehndiratta, Practice Manager Transport, World Bank

Mr Anil Kumar Gupta, Director (Works), Indian Port Rail Corporation Ltd.

Dr Pawan Kumar, Associate TCP, Town and Country Planning Organization (TCPO), MoHUA

Mr Robert Valcovic, KFW

Mr Arnaud Dauphin, Lead Transport Specialist, AFD Paris

Technical Session 4 – Electric Buses

Mr Jerome Pourbaix, Director Regional Services & Offices, UITP Brussels (Supported by UITP)

Mr Chinmay Pandit, Head - Alternate Powertrain Solutions KPIT Technology Limited

Prof. Shivanand Swamy, Executive Director, CEPT University, Ahmedabad

Mr V. Ponnuraj, Managing Director, Bengaluru Metropolitan Transport Corporation

Round Table 4 - Making the Metro Successful
Round Table 5 – Better Bus Systems

Mr Pawan Mulukutla, Head, Urban Innovation and Integrated Transport, WRI India

Technical Session 5 – Deployment of Digital Technology in Public Transport

Mr Christoph Tobitsch, Delivery Lead, Upstream

Mr. Richard Ortega, Innovation and Technology Projects Specialist, Smart Cities Unit, Planning and Development Coordination, Under Secretary of Transport, Ministry of Transport and Telecommunications, Government of Chile (supported by GIZ)

Mr Nalin Bansal, VP, RuPay Contactless and New Business, National Payment Corporation of India (NPCI)

Prof, Ashwin Mahalingam, IIT Madras

Dr Rajesh J Pandya, Deputy Municipal Commissioner & GMT (Transit – SSCDL), BRTS Project, Surat Municipal Corporation

Technical Session 6 – Urban Transport and Climate Change

Mr. Daniel Bongardt, Senior Advisor, Transport and Climate Change, GIZ (Supported By GIZ)

Mr Hemant Berwani, NEERI

Dr Rohini Balasubramaniam, Consultant

Ms Nupur Gupta, Senior Transport Specialist, World Bank

Ms Usha Rao, Regional Technical Specialist, UNDP

Round Table 6 – From Plans to Proposals (Supported by GIZ)


Round Table 7 – Roadmap for Electrifying IPT in Indian Cities (Supported by ICLEI)

Ravi Gadepalli, Consultant, CapaCITIES

Mr Ashish Rao Ghorpade, ICLEI South Asia Development Corporation Limited

Mr Nikhil Dhamankar

Plenary Session 2 – Challenges in Implementing Electric Mobility in India (Panel Discussion)

Mr Laghu Parashar

Mr Weimin Zhou, Transport Specialist (China Team), World Bank

Dr. Prabhajot Kaur, CEO, Centre for Battery Engineering and EVs(C-BEEV) IIT Madras, Chennai

Day 3 Sunday November 04, 2018
Research Symposium 3 - Public Transport Planning & Shared Mobility

Ms R Kanika Gounder, CEPT University, Ahmedabad- ASSESSMENT OF BUS CONTRACTING MODELS A Case Study of Bhopal

Mr Manish Kumar Roy, School of Planning and Architecture, Delhi- Impact of Shared Mobility on Travel Pattern in Urban Areas

Ms Divyanka Dhok, CEPT University, Ahmedabad - Demand elasticities of Bus ridership in India Case study of Bangalore-

Dr. Ankit Kathuria, IIT Roorkee - Estimating Maximum Failure Rate For A Bus Rapid Transit Station

Research Symposium 4 - Integrating Land Use Transportation Planning & Non-Motorized Transport

Ms Amrinder Kaur, CEPT University, Ahmedabad- Assess the accessibility to Public Spaces using Public Transport Case of Ahmedabad

Ms Avni Mehta, CEPT University, Ahmedabad- How Transport Disadvantage affects the life of Lower Income Group in Gurgaon

Ms Abhansha Somvanshi, , CEPT University, Ahmedabad- Continuity and Change in Urban Transport Development: Role of Politics, Institutions and Actors A case of Delhi

Technical Session 7 – New Initiatives in Metro

Ms. Renu Gera, Senior Environment Expert, Maha Metro

Mr Mahesh Gupta, Joint General Manager (Multi Modal Integration), Maha Metro

Mr Jitendra Jha, Project Manager (Rolling Stock), Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd.

Mr Gerald Ollivier, Lead Transport Specialist & Community of Practice Lead for ToD

Technical Session 8 – Urban Freight

Mr. Martin Schmied, Head of Division, Transport, Noise Pollution and Spatial Development Umweltbundesamt, Germany (supported by GIZ)

Ecologistics project - Mr Ashish Rao Ghorpare, ICLEI

Mr Vikas Sethia, Co-founder, Intelligent Transportation System for Delivery Optimization Shared Transportation

Mr. Christoph Nedopil, PD Sino-German Cooperation on Low Carbon Transport, GIZ (supported by GIZ)

Technical Session 9 – Non Motorized Transport (NMT)

Mr Sebastian Ibold, Project Manager, Sino-German Cooperation on Low-Carbon Transport, Beijing, China (sponsored by GIZ)

Mr Gerald Paul Ollivier, Lead Transport Specialist & Community of Practice Lead for TOD, World Bank (supported by World Bank)

Mr Jonathan Orlando González Antonio, Technologic Innovation Chief of Departmental Unit, Ministry of Mobility, Mexico City (supported by GIZ)

Shri Chandrababu S, GM (Civil), Projects, Kochi Metro Rail Limited

Ms Paromita Roy, Deputy Director (Arch.), Housing & Urban Projects Wing (HUPW), Delhi Development Authority

Round Table 8 – Improving Access to Metro Rail Systems through Innovative Technologies
Round Table 9 – How to Improve Ecosystem for Electric Vehicles in Cities for Green Mobility

Dr. Subash Dhar, UNEP DTU Partnership/ Dr Talat Munshi

Plenary Session 3- Innovations and Challenges in Metro Rail Implementation/ Operations in India

Mr Ravi Jain, Paycraft (from closed to open loop AFC in metro) (TBC)

Knowledge Partners

Media Partners